October 12, 2023

Courtney Daniel, Director of Communications and External Affairscourtney@prichardcommittee.org

Prichard Committee for Academic Excellence Announces 16 School District Awardees for the Kentucky Community Schools Initiative

The Prichard Committee will channel nearly $1.5 million to each district over five years

LEXINGTON, Ky. — The Prichard Committee for Academic Excellence announced today 16 school districts that will join the transformative Kentucky Community Schools Initiative, bringing the total to 20 participating districts statewide.

The Prichard Committee was awarded a $47 million grant from the U.S. Department of Education last year, and it will channel $30 million of the grant directly into the Kentucky education system through the implementation of full-service community schools, known as the Kentucky Community School Initiative.

“This is a pivotal moment for education in Kentucky. Our expansion to include new districts in the Kentucky Community Schools Initiative underscores our commitment to improving student futures through community-driven solutions,” said Brigitte Blom, President/CEO of the Prichard Committee. “Each selected district shows promise and shares our vision. We are eager to see the positive change that unfolds in these communities.”

The Kentucky Community Schools Initiative champions community-led educational solutions tailored specifically for Kentucky students and their families. When implemented effectively, the community schools model has been proven to boost student outcomes, increase college enrollments, and contribute to the overall well-being of students, especially in high-poverty schools.

The 20 districts included in this initiative are:

  • Bracken County
  • Carter County
  • Christian County
  • Clark County
  • Covington Independent
  • Danville Independent
  • Daviess County*
  • Dayton Independent
  • Fayette County
  • Hopkins County
  • Jefferson County*
  • McCracken County
  • Owensboro Independent*
  • Paducah Independent
  • Rockcastle County
  • Rowan County*
  • Scott County
  • Shelby County
  • Warren County
  • Washington County

* Pilot Districts

With the joint efforts of these districts and the resources provided through the grant, the Prichard Committee is supporting a community-centered approach to education, tailored to the unique needs of each district.

This work will be supported by a state steering committee and the University of Kentucky College of Education Center for Evaluation.


The Prichard Committee for Academic Excellence is an independent, nonpartisan, citizen-led organization working to improve education in Kentucky – early childhood through postsecondary.


Comments are closed.